The Archive of Coventry Cathedral is located in the undercroft of the Cathedral and is the repository of data relating to the art and architecture of the Cathedral. Additional information relates to the ministry and the rebuilding of one of Britain’s most iconic 20th century buildings, designed by Basil Spence, and which was consecrated in 1962. The main collection dates from around 1945 since the earlier records were lost during the bombing of St Michael’s in November 1940. (Limited detail relating to births, marriages and deaths are retained at Warwickshire County Records office).
The collection consists of primary and secondary source materials, including correspondence, minutes and reports relating to the reconstruction of the Cathedral, a large and important collection of contemporary photographs and a comprehensive collection of press cuttings relating to the Cathedral.
Highlights include: Provost R.T. Howard’s pre and post War diaries, preliminary sketches of some of the artworks which form part of the fabric of the interior of the nave, and a collection of architectural drawings including blueprints of Giles Gilbert Scott’s design for a new cathedral.